Jim Trainer

IN CASE I FORGET TO WRITE

In Austin, Philadelphia, poem, Poetry, police brutality, sober, sobriety on May 11, 2016 at 9:34 pm

there’s no one back east
could imagine life this easy
up west 6th in May
come the big legged
high-skirted women.
with a pair of canvas black shades on
nobody will even look at you
if there’s trouble I haven’t found any
except my own and I’ve solved it
I’m up early in the morning
drinking decaf and doing yoga
and I drink cold seltzers on the sawdust
in the rockabilly night
my only complaint
it might be too easy
down here in the Pearl of the South
but it sure beats waiting by a payphone
at 18th&Callowhill
as the cops circle back
and the wind chill climbs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

