Jim Trainer

13/30

In National Poetry Month, Philadelphia, poem, Poetry, TOUR, travel on April 13, 2015 at 9:10 pm

THE LONGEST LAYOVER

Amtrak offered 4 cities for $800
and since Lafayette, LA was one of the two dates I had booked,
I got laid over in New Orleans for free.
I went clear across the country
all the way to San Francisco
when I got there I signed up for food stamps
and sold them to the Asian ladies out front
at 2 on the dollar
I sold my return leg to a girl at the hostel
and rebooked the same 4 cities
for my return
Aurora-Houston-Lafayette (NOLA)-Wilmington
I had the best gig of my life in Houston
at Notsuoh on Main
and I met allot of nice people along the way
I was 25
it was the end of the century
I spent the next 10 years of my life
lost in the city of Philadelphia.

Leave a Reply

