Jim Trainer

7/30

In Jim Trainer, National Poetry Month, poem, Poetry on April 7, 2015 at 7:42 pm

growth is violent
and the sun burns
some people aren’t nice
and the world runs
on money and greed
if you have a complaint
take it to the boss
or go marching in the street
don’t complain to me
I left the party
a long time ago
and retired to this room
where I put my complaint into the work
I prefer quiet afternoons typing
over any crusade any where
I don’t believe in causes
and these pages aren’t flags
I’m not trying to change the world
and I don’t want to leave a mark
this typing, up here, has been
finding for refuge
far off the grid
sequestered
from the rally and complaint
of the world

Leave a Reply

