Jim Trainer

Philadelphia Blues

In Jim Trainer, Music, music performance, Performance, Philadelphia, singer-songwriter, song on January 6, 2015 at 5:11 pm

walkin down Hazel street one day
I heard a man say “I’ll kill you.”
a little ill at ease when I’d walk these streets
I don’t know about you
but there’s no such thing as paranoia
in a town where they shoot you fer yer shoes
no respite, no mercy, the Philadelphia blues

in a city of millions I can’t see how
the two of you could end up at the same hotel
you sit at the same table share the same scenic view
what my ex-wife and my girlfriend
are discussing I haven’t a clue
must be hatchin plans to give a man the Philadelphia blues

little umbrella girl in the pourin rain
with the snout of an elephant or a shrew
gonna get it all down with her pad&pen
dirty whore knows what to do
gonna get it all down gonna mark it all down
maybe put it on pay-per-view
a sad little movie starring you, called the Philadelphia blues

ain’t a bar in town that’ll serve me now
their doors closed to me and their bolted, too
but if there’s a bar in Hell, gonna order me a whiskey&vermouth
and say “Hello Satan! Something I wanna talk about with you.
You don’t have to giver cancer Just give her some
Philadelphia blues.” 

walkin down Hazel Street today
I slapped my pistol down in that pig’s face
we all got things in our lives we can’t undo
rain pourin down on the beltway, I’ll be in Little Rock around 1 or 2
put the pedal down makin miles from the Philadelphia blues

Jim Trainer returns to Melodies’ Cafe this Friday January 9, performing with a stellar lineup including Mark Thousands, Cardinal Arms and Andrew Meoray.
Songs of Sadness&Light
this Friday January 9
at Melodies’ Cafe
2 East Lacaster Avenue
Ardmore, PA
8 PM

Leave a Reply

