Jim Trainer

War&Mouthpiece: Punk Rock, Poetry&Peace

In Uncategorized on March 25, 2014 at 9:30 am

Pre-gaming on the roof. Where else? Construction bols downstairs raising the foundation of the mansion. There’s a high snap in the air and what could it be but Spring, here at the end of blustery bastard March? Yesterday during therapy I had a gorgeous and buxom vision. I had to tell him to wait and put the phone down. I waved to her, at first. Then I said ‘hi’ in a high-pitched voice that made me feel like a teenager.

Besides this wash of a cold, wet wind this morning and the excitement that sailor weather always brings, I’m in a good mood. I got word this morning that my copy of No Slam Dancing, No Stage Diving, No Spikes An Oral History of the Legendary City Gardenshas shipped and is on its way to the mansion. It’d be most auspicious if it indeed arrived today as writer Amy Yates Weulfing will be on the Daily Show With John Stewart tonight. Oh yeah, it’ll be her and former Austinite and punk-rock freakazoid Gibby Haynes.
Aho. In my line of work today is what you call a Hot One-there’s work to be done and not enough hours in the day to get to it all, nor enough drugs to help, nor any other life for me, Brothers&Sisters. This is the shit. Real media, real time. Transmission Aho.
Yep most days the mid-line, as you’ve heard me write before. Although far from ideal, assuredly better than the days you see me on here dippin’ into the codeine blue. Melancholy shits of days when I give up with a Bloody before noon and hang a sign on the office door that reads NO NEWS TODAY. FUCK RIGHT OFF. Let’s face it, shit can get grim.
But days like today are why I got into this business. More than enough news that means something to me&my People, and from my vantage point right here on the front-lines.
Ok the plane is still missing. And Russia’s committed the finest land grab since Iraq I. And Obama’s butthurt and righteous and here comes the fucking freedom talk; rhetoric clogging up liberal media outlets like CNN when I go downstairs in the mansion to smoke out my boss.
World Events bum me out, or rather-the reportage of World Events really gets me down. Good thing we have Peace Correspondent Brother Don Bajema on the masthead here at GFtT. He’ll be weighing in on all this WWIII beeswax.
My political stance is a re-immersion into art. Museums, books, theaters, music-back into the physical world of exertion and challenge.
-Brother Don Bajema
Peace Correspondent, GFtT
Leave it to the pros, Brother. Eat the Rich and Fuck The Rest.

Oh, and all you poets out there-I want to hear from you. April is National Poetry Month and if I have my way there’ll be 30 new poems up on GFtT by May 1. Be some fine ammo in the stockpile and right on time as I plan to be gone by then, off and down the good red road to Olema, Shephardstown and Hostile City. I KNOW YOU HAVE A POEM. So tell the world. Make ’em know! And send it off to:

the Editor, GFtT
jamesmichaeltrainer@gmail.com

TUNE IN TONIGHT TO
The Daily Show With Jon Stewart
FOR AN INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR AMY YATES WEULFING (NO SLAM DANCING, NO STAGE DIVING, NO SPIKES)&GIBBY HAYNES (BUTTHOLE SURFERS)!
on Comedy Central (check your local listings for times)

AND SEND US YR POEM FOR NATIONAL POETRY MONTH.
c/o
the Editor, GFtT
jamesmichaeltrainer@gmail.com

Spring has sprung. It’s sailor weather.

c’mon baby eat the rich
put the bite on the son-of-a-bitch

-Motorhead

Yrs,
the Iconoclast

20140325-102852.jpg

20140325-102916.jpg

20140325-102938.jpg

20140325-103000.jpg

Leave a Reply

