Jim Trainer

Not But For a Night

In Uncategorized on April 3, 2013 at 1:33 pm

I’m as guilty as you are. My hands are shaking,
there’s a new curl in my lip. All night we stitch
our eyes through the air; I can hear what you’re saying,
but only the curse words, and I’m simply miming “Kill me”
at the bar. And the heat is on, so we’re forced to raise
a forearm to our brows, and you mock fainting; I pretend
to choke. People are noticing. You’re as guilty as I am.

by Josh Britton


butt

  1. […] your motherfucking game face on and read some real killers this month. -Josh […]

  2. Reblogged this on Going for the Throat and commented:

    A repost from Josh Britton, for National Poetry Month last year.

Leave a Reply

