Jim Trainer

UPDATE FROM THE RUINED ROOMS OF THE HIGH LIFE

In Uncategorized on August 20, 2012 at 12:35 pm

I moved the office to the kitchen. Seems right and she’s pleased. What else? Bumpin’ me some Weezer right now, boys. That’s right I like pop music. I’m pretty shameless about it. It has the ingredient crucial to any good music-it simply is what it is. No artifice, no pretense. Lyrical content can be vapid, the song can be about nothing, as long as it doesn’t pretend to be about something.  And, harmony-as an ex-bass player I can dig me some harmony.
Don’t get me wrong, there was nothing wrong with the old office. But it reminded me too much of my homeless days, cigarette ash was accumulating in the corners of the bedroom and she did not approve. She fucked my brains out on Wednesday. Thursday was hard&what a drag it is getting old.  She went back to Seguin and here I am on a Saturday night, listening to Weezer and drinking the rest of the housewarming wine that Skye Downing was nice enough to bring over for her birthday dinner.
Perched here, atop this nothing night, I can proudly report, I have no regrets. There is no ever-pressing dread, there are no heavy-as-lead nights or headache-yellow days that can get the best of me now, brother. For true.
You can live your dreams. It just takes about 20years and the steadfast resolve to discard every warning and any indication the world offers as to what the path to happiness is. Happiness is easy and there is no high life. My best friend told me that once, and like so many things he said, it stuck.
The last 20years were a real trip, Jack. Plenty of love&trouble. Enough to last a lifetime and to be jaded enough to know-what they sellin’ ain’t ever it. It can’t be bought, brother&your money’s no good here.
For Madmen Only
-Herman Hesse, Steppenwolf
Thanks for joining me in the savage lamplight.  Nights when I can slip a jewel from the serpent’s mouth or sadly hit the net like some failed romantic acrobat.
Stick around and don’t go in for anything anyone, including yourself, tells you. Victory is survival and we can all lay down in thanks every night knowing that we won another day.  If we wake up tomorrow, we will win again.
Unsurprisingly, its happiness that is the hardest to bear. It’s impossibly light and it goes away but everything goes away. We’re still here.
That my friends is Victory.

Leave a Reply

