Jim Trainer

arkansas blues

In Uncategorized on July 31, 2012 at 10:21 am

does the light of God blind you
or lead the way home for you?

they long&sleek&brown&elegant and they will kill you.  the last time I was in Arkansas I got pulled over for swerving
over the line.  I wasn’t drinking, I was watching the cop behind me and pulling off a rig from Albuquerque.  I was due back in Philly but was forced to stay in that greasy wet room in Arkansas.  this room tonight ain’t much better but I’ve got my friends with me.  my long, brown cigarillos&a big green bottle of beer. I’ve somehow been to every state in the lower 48 (except South Dakota).  another feat somehow trying to prove myself better than him.  I’m not sure how much better I can be stowed away in this room w/the t.v. off&the curtains down, these familiar totems of cigarettes&beer and this karma coming from a long line
of alcoholic smokers. there ain’t much anyone can do about karma.  freedom is making choices.  freedom is the monkey and freedom is the key.  but wisdom-aho.  Wisdom is knowing when to pull off the road and get a dirty room, somehow take your rest and get the fuck out of Arkansas first thing tomorrow.

I’m ‘gonna take the sins of my father
I’m ‘gonna take the sins of my mother
I’m ‘gonna take the sins of my brother
down to the pond.
-Tom Waits

Leave a Reply

