Jim Trainer

this concludes our Week of Loving Dangerously

In Uncategorized on July 10, 2012 at 10:27 am

She pulled up in a gun-metal grey Lexus 350. I was drinking the worst margarita ever at Boheme off Westheimer. The barmaid was right about the tequila but little else. I sat on the sofa, by the door, cooling off. She came in.

She kissed me. I got a taste of the Republic Silver and closed my tab.
With one kiss and one taste I started to realize that, even though I’d been travelling since 7a.m., 3hours down 290 from Hippie Town and 5more blocks through the ghettos of Houston, all was right with the world.
We pulled onto Alan Parkway and sunk into a dream. We spent the next 12hours living Life as it should be lived:  sheltered&quiet in Hunter’s Creek Village, deep in the heart of Texas, in the Land of the Free. Love-making, guitar playing and lunch and beer and more music.
I been too long in the wasteland, forgotten what love is supposed to be like.
Love is ultimately an understanding and being gentle when understanding isn’t forthcoming. Love is easy. It’s quiet. There isn’t really anything reassuring about love but its reassuring enough to know that it can live and we can be part of its song&sway. We can come and dissolve and labor the tired ego no more.
Hang it up. Park it down and unwind.

She’s sleeping in the backroom as I write this and smoke. Drink coffee in the garden. Freda, Queen of the Silkys, sleeps beside me. The cicadas lazily drilling into the magic canopy of Summer’s green theater. The brown lizard has the red leaf. All is right with the world.
Used to be that I could never be alone.  The problem w/Jimbo is that I could never relax. Still, love, to me, should be industrious&uninterrupted. I never went in for anything orthodox or static and for me love is the same. Get it all in. 12-30hours in an abandoned mansion in Memorial, TX.
Then get back to the front.

I got orders of a different kind recently. I’m still standing in the doorway but something tells me this threshold will be fluid. The door might never close but only swing in&out. Within, without. Life has sent a messenger. She can hold a mirror and I am in love with her legs.
And so, with this vow re-tripled, and with orders of a different kind, I’ll be heading back up to Hippie Town and preparing for the day that I walk through that door-get an interview and sign on.
There is a great&grave suffering in the world. There is a great&grave suffering within us all. We all are trying to be happy&free.

I finally got my orders,
I’ll be marching through the morning, marching through the Night,
moving cross the border of my secret life.
-Leonard Cohen, In My Secret Life

May we stalk ourselves on the road to Freedom.
Jim Trainer
Memorial, TX

  1. “Love is ultimately an understanding and being gentle when understanding isn’t forthcoming. Love is easy. It’s quiet. There isn’t really anything reassuring about love but its reassuring enough to know that it can live and we can be part of its song&sway. We can come and dissolve and labor the tired ego no more.”

    I’m saving that quote for future reference.

Leave a Reply

